News & Highlights


Berkeley Symposium on 2D Semiconductors

April 9, 2024
BETR Event

The 2024 Berkeley Symposium on 2D Semiconductors, hosted by the BETR Center, brought together experts from industry, UC Berkeley, and LBNL to explore opportunities and challenges for 2D materials to transition from research into future technologies.

Sloan Research Fellowship

February 2024

BETR co-Director Prof. Sophia Shao has been named 2024 Sloan Research Fellow by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation for her research on improving the performance of computing platforms through hardware acceleration.

EDGE Consortium

October 2023

BETR co-Director Prof. Tsu-Jae King Liu is part of the new Education group for Diversification and Growth in Engineering (EDGE) Consortium, which aims to improve training and increase diversity in the semiconductor workforce. (Story in Science)

Microelectronics Commons Hub

September 2023

BETR co-Directors Prof. Tsu-Jae King Liu and Prof. Sayeef Salahuddin will co-lead the new $15.3M California-Pacific-Northwest AI Hardware Microelectronics Commons Hub, awarded by the U.S. Department of Defense.


May 2023

BETR co-Director Prof. Sophia Shao received the 2023 Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award by the National Science Foundation, recognizing early-career faculty “who have the potential to serve as academic role models”.

Multi-Color LED Array

May 2023
Science Advances publication

BETR Center co-Director Prof. Ali Javey and his team developed an economical and compact light-emitting array with limitless colors on a single chip for applications in low-power sensing, computing and spectroscopy.

2023 IEEE Fellow

February 2023

BETR co-Director BETR Center co-Director Prof. Ali Javey has been named a Fellow of IEEE “for contributions to 1D and 2D semiconductor transistors and wearable biochemical sensors”.

Intel Rising Star

October 2022

BETR co-Director Prof. Sophia Shao received the 2022 Intel Rising Star Award, which supports early-career faculty whose research is groundbreaking and demonstrates the potential to disrupt industries.

2022 Lam Technical Symposium

October 2022

The BETR Center was a proud co-host of the 2022 Lam Research Technical Symposium, which is Lam’s premiere forum for joint academic and industry cooperation. Click here for some event impressions.

Record-Breaking Silicon Photonics LiDAR

March 2022
Nature publication

BETR co-Director Prof. Ming Wu and his group developed a MEMS-based large-scale 16,384-pixel photonic LiDAR, which can be mass-produced in CMOS foundries. This work was published in the journal Nature.

MRS Board of Directors

October 2021
Materials Research Society (MRS)

Dr. Nerissa Draeger, Director of Global University Engagements at BETR industry affiliate Lam Research, was elected to the Board of Directors of the Materials Research Society (MRS). Congratulations!

NSF Workshop on CMOS+X Technologies

August 2021
National Science Foundation & UC Berkeley

BETR Co-Director Prof. Sayeef Salahuddin and BETR Executive Director Dr. Michael Bartl organized an NSF-supported workshop on next-generation computing solutions, integrating emerging technologies (X) with state-of-the-art CMOS.

Breakthrough in Light Emission

July 2021
Science magazine

The group of BETR Co-Director Prof. Ali Javey reported a breakthrough in efficient light emission from a range of transition metal chalcogenide monolayer semiconductors grown by chemical vapor deposition. This work was published in the journal Science.

National Artificial Intelligence Research Institute

July 2021
National Science Foundation

Prof. Vladimir Stojanovic is part of a newly awarded $20M National AI Institute for Advances in Optimization awarded by the National Science Foundation. This new institute fuses AI and mathematical optimization for automated decision-making at massive scales.

IEEE Electron Devices Society Luminaries

May 2021
IEEE Electron Devices Society

Prof. Tsu-Jae King Liu is featured as a luminary in an IEEE Electron Devices Society (EDS) Podcast Series. The series provides interviews with “the most successful members of the [Electron Devices] Society”.

Adolph Lomb Medal

February 2021
Optical Society of America

Prof. Laura Waller was named the recipient of the 2021 Adolph Lomb Medal by the Optical Society of America for “important contributions to the advancement of computational microscopy and its applications”.

Robert Bosch Award

November 2019
IEEE Electron Device Society

Prof. Ming Wu received the 2020 Robert Bosch Micro and Nano Electro Mechanical Systems Award by the IEEE Electron Device Society for his “pioneering contributions in MEMS optical switches and optoelectronic tweezers”.

Frederic Ives Medal/Jarus W. Quinn Prize

February 2019
Optical Society of America

Prof. Eli Yablonovitch received the Optical Society of America’s Frederic Ives Medal/Jarus W. Quinn Prize for “diverse and deep contributions to optical science including photonic crystals, strained semiconductor lasers, and new record-breaking solar cell physics”.

Engineering Hall of Fame

January 2019
Silicon Valley Engineering Council (SVEC)

Prof. Tsu-Jae King Liu was elected into the Silicon Valley Engineering Hall of Fame for her trailblazing contributions to research and industry. Prof. Liu was also included in Women Inc. magazine’s list of the Most Influential Corporate Board Members in 2018.